Helsworth
Heathen

Words count: 1,597,451
Group: Super Moderators
Experience: 859
Glory Points: 260
Medals: 11

Differential diagnosis GDR

Ok I've got some experience out of my first/previous try of the GDR template. I learned what not to do and how a large GDP compared to the money supply can make life miserable, especially for statisticians and the regent (me).

Ok, lets start with plan A:
I increase the money supply---> that will make my currency cheaper, in turn causing the price of my exports to go down ergo being more competitive. Downside is that the GDR's exporters aren't famos for... really anything. I'll also have to reduce pensions a little, because pensions are indexed with the rate of inflation. So if I leave them the same and increase the money supply, pensioners will get the same money that now can buy less + an extra quantity of the same money, cause of the indexing.
Question! What are the possible down sides of shrinking consumption?
Domestic producers sell less, they have to drop their prices, correlated with a weaker currency they can have difficulties in paying for the raw/basic materials required for the manufacturing process.
NOTE: I'm only interested in manufacturing, agriculture, construction (energy/infrastructure), not the service part of the economy. So focus your theories on that.
Lets toss into the mix an income tax reform.
Negative income tax, causes increased spending from the lower income brackets. While causing more saving from the middle and upper classes. But seeing how this is a GDR template, there aren't so manny bourgeo or aristocratic pricks to spend or invest.
Next, flat income tax... It would be recommended, the tax itself is small. But unlike the negative income tax which can stimulate growth via consumption and a little bit of inflation, how can the flat income tax cause growth? Also when theorizing about this, correlate it with the currency depreciation via the increasing money supply.