Post Reply  Post Thread 
Pages (6): « First [1] 2 3 4 5 Next > Last »

Gold/Silver Standards

DRLHyper
Unregistered

Gold/Silver Standards

Not going to lie about this; it sparked off as a private discussion.

But basically: What do you think about Gold/Silver standards? Would the economies of the world be more stable that way? Or does it favours imperialistic practices? (Aka: Larger nations dominating smaller ones)

If I had to say, I would aim to the later. But I am no expert on the field, and as far as I can tell the Gold Standard helped my country [Argentina] maintain a degree of prestige as a "rich economy" for long. My most issue with this is that it is not very sustainable.

05.05.2011 22:09
Quote this message in a reply
Helsworth
Heathen

Words count: 1,597,451
Group: Super Moderators
Experience: 859
Glory Points: 260
Medals: 11

RE: Gold/Silver Standards

DRLHyper Wrote:
Not going to lie about this; it sparked off as a private discussion.

But basically: What do you think about Gold/Silver standards? Would the economies of the world be more stable that way? Or does it favours imperialistic practices? (Aka: Larger nations dominating smaller ones)

If I had to say, I would aim to the later. But I am no expert on the field, and as far as I can tell the Gold Standard helped my country [Argentina] maintain a degree of prestige as a "rich economy" for long. My most issue with this is that it is not very sustainable.

http://www.chomsky.info/talks/20010126.htm

I would advocate for an international fixed exchange rate sytem, ergo a new Bretton Woods.

https://www.patreon.com/SerbanVCEnache
05.05.2011 22:36
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
OVERSIER
Emperor

Words count: 35,739
Group: Basic
Experience: 146
Glory Points: 0
Medals: 0

it would kill some nations while others will be better off . Also it would create a lot of wars because stealing gold from one nation for the other will be the only way to increase your currency price by a lot