Post Reply  Post Thread 

How to stop annual bank crisis

dragonflare88
Unregistered

How to stop annual bank crisis

***Disclaimer: I am by no means an expert on the topic. I am 15 years old and I made this for fun. I appreciate if you still read it and give me criticism/suggestions/corrections.

Ever since the United States Panic of 1819, the first U.S.A. major peacetime financial crisis, bank crisis happened annually,about every decade, up until the Great Depression. However, after the Great Depression, these major bank crisis stopped completely until the United Kingdom's Secondary Banking Crisis of 1973-1975. Why is that?
Well, to answer that, I looked into the very first major banking crisis, the Crisis of 1763, a crisis that began after the collapse of the major bank called Leendert Pieter de Neufville. During the Seven Years War, he implemented a curious financial innovation called wisselruiterij. Supposedly, this financial innovation somehow led to his bank collapsing after peace broke out (sound familiar?) It(the bank) collapsed because it could no longer meet its obligations (hmmmm that also sounds familiar.) This, in short, created a domino effect that resulted in a confidence crisis, the banks didn't want to give each other credit anymore. This banking crisis spread from Amsterdam to Germany to the Scandinavian states. Then, that begs the question, what is this mysterious wisselruiterij, and how could it create that large of a domino effect after one bank has a crisis?