Looter

Words count: 245,068
Group: Basic
Experience: 496
Glory Points: 10
Medals: 1

Why does high school suck?

A question for the Americans out there.

I am British. In my country it is a popular saying that "your schooldays are the best days of your life". While schoochildren may roll their eyes when told this, it is only because they have no comprehension of the horrors that await them come adulthood. By contrast it seems to be received wisdom in American culture that high school is terrible and things get better. Why the difference? I don't know much about the culture in American high schools, what I do know is largely drawn from Buffy the Vampire Slayer.

I don't think I have rose tinted spectacles when viewing my youth. I work as a teacher so have a lot of experience with school kids. I remember well how we were all afflicted with testosterone-psychosis - the feuds, constant violence and casual sadism. Also the gut wrenching sexual frustration. I am aware how horrifying the experience must have been for homosexuals, young women subject to constant male violence and children with abusive parents.

But for most of us there was something you never really get again. Fraternity. When you are with hundreds of your peers for five days a week you get the opportunity to form real relationships which have no parallel in adulthood. No matter if someone is a rival, a geek, (or god forbid has different music taste!), you are still bonded like brothers through shared experience. Just as brothers can be extremely violent to each other while sharing an unbreakable bond, so it is with school children. Like a mosh pit the playground has its own justice - be too much of a twat and everyone gets together and beats the shit out of you.